Painting 1/72 US Airborne

For Christmas this year my sister and bro-in-law picked me up a set of Italeri 1/72 US Paratroopers. Life being the way it is, I've only just got around to painting them up.

The start of the project - first figure off the sprue.

I started with a thin base of grey primer. As you can see this brings the details on the figure out quite nicely. I have been pretty happy with Italeri's casting quality so far.

A pathfinder.

I also picked up a few 20mm metals, pictured here in the foreground, to go along with my plastics. The figures are from CP Models / TQD Castings, and I am quite happy with them. The proportions on the figures match the Italeri 1/72 nicely, and, because of the kinds of bases they came with, would end sitting at the right height off the table with the other figures as well.

CP Models starting to get painted up.

Also pictured is the color choice I made for mid-'44 Airborne uniform color. I did not have anything that matched well, so I decided to mix 2 parts Vallejo Khaki with 1 part Vallejo German Field Grey to try and approximate the color. As you will see I ultimately regretted this decision, but live and learn.

Progress being made on the CP Models. The detail on these is great!

Once I got all my base coats down, I gave the figures a healthy application of Army Painter Strong Tone. The wash leaves quite a bright sheen, but an application of Vallejo Matte Varnish will flatten the figures back down nicely.

A figure pre matte varnish.

I based the plastics on pennies, and kept the 20mm metals on the bases they came with. I find that pennies are a good size for basing 1/72 plastic figures. The weight of the penny also gives the figures a good heft, and helps to stabilize them on the gaming table.

Once the figures were attached to their bases, it was time to start adding ground texture and flock. A simple but effective basing method I have been using is wood filler as a base for dirt, then very watered down dark brown paint. Because the paint is so watered down, the wood filler absorbs it well gives the dirt a nice saturated yet varied color. Then I dry brush on some lighter shades of brown.

Dirt!

PVA glue and homemade flock, and the bases are done!
I had a lot of fun painting these guys. I am also very happy with how the CP 20mm metals fit in with my 1/72 plastics. The only thing I wish I had done differently was add more tan to the color mix on the uniforms, as the quick shad wash I used really muted the colors on some of my figures. There is always next time. Now, to get my new Airborne on the table for some gaming!

Thanks for reading!
views

Tags